[UPDATE] Edo guber: Obaseki wins APC primary

The Chairman of the Edo State Economy and Strategy team, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, has won the gubernatorial primary of the All Progressives Congress. He was declared winner of the keenly contested primary by the Chairman of the Committee on the Conduct of the APC Primary and Governor of Katsina State, Alhaji Aminu Bello Masari, at about 4:05am on Sunday.

Obaseki and 11 other aspirants took part in the exercise which commenced on Saturday at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin, the state capital. The other aspirants include the Deputy Governor, Dr. Pius Odubu; a former governor, Professor Oserhiemen Osunbor, and a former Minister of State for Works, Chris Ogiemwonyi.

Others are Maj-Gen Charles Airhiavbere (retd.), Kenneth  Imasuagbon, Peter Esele, ‎Tina Agbarha, Blessing Agbomere, Emmanuel Arigbe-Osula, Professor Ebegue Amadasun and Austin Emuan.
At the end of voting, sorting and counting, Obaseki polled a total of 1,618 votes to record a landslide win over the other contestants.‎

His closest rival was Odubu, who came a distant second with 471 votes. Imasuagbon and Ogiemwonyi had 247 and 137 to settle for third and fourth places, respectively. Airhiavbere got 11 votes while Arigbe-Osula had 10 votes. Other results are Esele (eight votes), Amadasun (eight votes), Emuan (seven votes) and Agbomere (five votes).

The only female aspirant in the primary, Agbarha, had a total of three votes.
The total number of invalid votes was 41.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.